Dance Consortium presents

Ailey 2

19 September - 28 October 2023

  • Tue 19 - Wed 20 Sep 2023
    Marlowe Theatre Canterbury
    book now
  • Fri 22 - Sat 23 Sep 2023
    Mayflower Theatre Southampton
    book now
  • Tue 26 - Wed 27 Sep 2023
    Theatre Royal Plymouth
    book now
  • Fri 29 - Sat 30 Sep 2023
    Milton Keynes Theatre
    book now
  • Tue 3 - Wed 4 Oct 2023
    Birmingham Hippodrome
    book now
  • Fri 6 - Sat 7 Oct 2023
    Theatre Royal Norwich
    book now
  • Tue 10 - Wed 11 Oct 2023
    Royal Concert Hall Nottingham
    book now
  • Fri 13 - Sat 14 Oct 2023
    The Lowry Salford Quays
    book now
  • Tue 17 - Wed 18 Oct 2023
    Alhambra Theatre Bradford
    book now
  • Fri 20 Oct 2023
    Hull New Theatre
    book now
  • Tue 24 - Wed 25 Oct 2023
    Theatre Royal Newcastle
    book now
  • Fri 27 - Sat 28 Oct 2023
    Eden Court Theatre Inverness
    book now

About the show

Dance Consortium presents

Ailey 2
The Next Generation of Dance
Francesca Harper, Artistic Director

Ailey 2 is universally renowned for merging the spirit and energy of the finest early-career dance talent in the United States with the passion and creative vision of today’s most outstanding and emerging choreographers. Dance Magazine calls Ailey 2 “second to none,” and The New York Times declares, “There’s nothing like an evening spent with Ailey 2, the younger version of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater.”

For their return to the UK, Ailey 2 brings an exciting repertory featuring Francesca Harper’s futuristic Freedom Series (excerpt, 15 minutes), Robert Battle’s thrilling The Hunt (14 minutes), the incredible energy of William Forsythe’s Enemy in the Figure (excerpt, 18 minutes), and Alvin Ailey’s beloved masterpiece Revelations (36 minutes).

Founded by Alvin Ailey, the company embodies his pioneering mission to establish an extended cultural community that provides dance performances, training, and community programmes for all people. Since its 1974 inception, Ailey 2 has flourished into one of the most popular modern dance companies, combining a rigorous touring schedule with extensive community outreach programmes. Today, with new Artistic Director Francesca Harper at the helm, she brings fresh perspectives to Mr. Ailey’s legacy, while nurturing new creative voices and propelling the company forward.